New to the group!

Hello fellow ADHDers,

I just joined the site today. I might as well start the group out with a post. I feel it will be refreshing to discuss dealing with ADHD with others that can relate as my wife just tilts her head in confusion when I try to explain the jibberish that is my thought process. I have been working in the IT field for 20 years and only on a couple occasions have I NOT been miserable as it could not be less interesting to me, which makes it very hard to stay focused, motivated and up to date with technology.

What do you guys do?

Hi Harry,

Though I don't think I have ADD?ADHD, I do think I'm at least a little dyslexic, and have put myself in some tight spots at work and with my personal checkbook at various times of my life by transposing numbers. Thankfully I can now bank on line and they do the work for me, that will keep me out of hot water!

My last job was in commission sales for furniture, before that I sold major appliances like washer/dryers, dishwashers, ranges and refrigerators. I loved it and did well, until that last time I was rear ended in the car, and besides that injury it was found I also had inherited autoimmune diseases, the primary one Psoriatic Arthritis. So I don't work any more, and miss it! It was very physically demanding being on your feet on concrete floors 12-14 hours a day!

It seems odd that you chose this profession and don't even like it! I guess it happens! I barely know how to turn on a computer, so I cannot imagine working in this field.

I'm glad you found us and joined and glad you posted!

Take care,

SK

Harry,

You asked what we do...I am an educator of ADHD students. They usually also come with some other underlying co-morbidity as well. I have been a nurse for over 23 years and still keep my license active. My business is called Homeschool Classroom, Inc. and is a Full-Time Tutoring Program; students come here full time, Mon. - Fri. from 7a - 6p as needed, year-round.