New here - waiting for our diagnosis

Hi I'm new here......I'm new to the whole ADD/ADHD world as well, its scary and I'm feeling like I'm digging a hole trying to help, I wonder what I could have done differently to help her because now I look back on the last two years and I see all kinds of signs. I have a 10 year old daughter who we are working on a diagnosis for, she was seen by her doctor last week and we started the paperwork. I'm waiting for the teachers to return the evaluation forms so I can turn them into her doctor and hopefully get back on a path to a happy child again - the happy child I know she is.

Does anyone have any tips on what questions to ask the doctor? What meds to avoid? A better way to deal with everything at home until we have a game plan and even after we have a diagnosis and treatment plan for her? Most days I head to work frustrated because we rushed out of the house, I forgot my lunch trying to remember her things. I know making her responsible for her own stuff what needs to happen but if I do that I end up with the "mommy I left my homework book, violin, lunch (other random item) at home and I need it.....so I'm late to work so I can get her what item she left behind.

Hi ConfusedMom05!

The morning rush is an awful way to start your day! Been there with all 3 of my kids! When my girls were about 10, I laminated a card with a checklist and attached it to their backpacks with one of those stretchy clips. They could use the list to check off each item required at the beginning and end of their school days. It wasn't 100% effective, but it gave them a tool to help with their organization and a way to start to be self reliant. I haven't started with my 6 year old yet, because he is still too emotionally immature to use it, and self-conscious about every little difference between him and others.