Straterra as an alternative to stimulants?

We have had a horrible run with medications lately for my 7 year old son.

We switched him from Adderall XR to biphentin because he was having abdominal pain, but it increased his anxiety. We then switched him back to Adderall and his anxiety continued to increase and escalated in to panic attacks last week.

We have now taken him off all medication, and within 4 days, the anxiety has COMPLETELY subsided. I have my happy boy back again. However, things are going downhill at school very quickly and he is unable to focus at all.

I have been doing a lot of reading on Straterra, which is a non-stimulant medication for ADHD. I think it might be a good option for my son.

Has anyone had any experience with this drug???

My profession is in scientific research, so I have ready several research papers on this medication and think its a good choice. But its always better to hear from anyone who has tried it.

I am trying to gather as much information as I can before we meet with our doctor to discuss what to do next.

I have been posting a lot lately. Thanks so much to everyone for being supportive!

we tried strattera with my then 8 year old last year, after being on stimulants that the effects wore off. strattera was not a good choice for her, it didn't seem like she was on anything, her behavior at school got worse and it made her really tired. But I know others that do benefit from non-stimulants. My daughter has ADHD due to a brain injury (AVM bleed) and not because it was inherited, and her doctor said medications typically aren't as effective w/her type of ADHD. We manage it at school with a detailed IEP, extra support and this year a behavior reward chart, which has helped tremendously!

Thanks for your response. :-)